Other places to find legal help and information:

Legal information may be found on the following websites:

S.C. Bar – https://www.scbar.org/public/get-legal-help/common-legal-topics/

S.C. Bar – Public Programs - https://www.scbar.org/public/public-programs/

S.C. Bar – Free publications - https://www.scbar.org/public/get-legal-help/free-forms-and-publications/

S.C. Supreme Court – Self-Help Resource Center - http://www.sccourts.org/selfHelp/index.cfm

S.C. Appleseed Legal Justice Center - http://scjustice.org/

S.C. Law Help - http://www.lawhelp.org/SC/


If you need a lawyer:

S.C. Bar Lawyer Referral Service – 1-800-868-2284 – these lawyers will charge fees to handle your case

South Carolina Legal Services - They give free legal help. Mostly they help people whose income is low for a family of that size. They don’t take criminal cases, only cases that you can’t go to jail for.  They only take cases that are on the list of priorities they have set for each year.  To find out if you are eligible for help from S.C. Legal Services, call the Legal Aid Telephone Intake Service (LATIS) at 1-888-346-5592.

If you are in Beaufort County, you may also contact Low Country Legal Volunteers (http://.lowcountrylegalaid.org) 

In Charleston County you may also contact Charleston Pro Bono Legal Services (http://charlestonbar.org/CM/Custom/Pro-Bono-Legal-Services.asp) or Charleston Legal Access, a non-profit law firm that represents modest means clients with sliding scale fees. If you make too much money to qualify for South Carolina Legal Services, they may be able to assist you. Visit http://www.charlestonlegalaccess.org/ for more information.


Other organizations that may assist with specific audiences/issues

S.C. Center for Fathers and Families - http://www.scfathersandfamilies.com/

S.C. Center for Heirs Property Preservation - http://www.heirsproperty.org/

S.C. Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts - http://scvolunteerlawyersforthearts.org/

Protection and Advocacy for People with Disabilities, Inc. - http://pandasc.org/

S.C. Victim’s Assistance Network - http://scvan.org/

Lt. Governor’s Office on Aging - http://aging.sc.gov/Pages/default.aspx

U. S. Bankruptcy Court - http://www.scb.uscourts.gov/

S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs – www.scconsumer.gov

Digna Ochoa Center for Immigration Legal Assistance - http://www.immigrationlawhelp.org/organization.393287-Digna_Ochoa_Center_for_Immigration_Legal_Assistance

Catholic Charities Immigration Legal Services - http://www.sccatholic.org/catholic-charities/immigration-legal-services

United Way of South Carolina - http://www.uwasc.org/

Harvest Hope Food Bank - http://www.harvesthope.org/

Midlands Mediation Center - http://midlandsmediation.org/

Upstate Mediation Center - http://upstatemediation.com/

One80 Place Legal Services -  http://one80place.org/legal-services/




For help with a criminal matter, contact the Public Defender in your county.  For a list of Public Defender offices and contact information, check the Commission on Indigent Defense website at http://www.sccid.sc.gov/